Art History? Matt’s your Man.

A lot of you who’ve read this blog for a long time know that it started when I was about to go to university. I was 18, I’d just got my first couple of tattoos, and I was about to be living off a big fat student loan. Well, I might be broke now trying to pay that loan back, and my idea of tattooing has vastly improved, but I can’t think of a better time for it to have happened. You’d be amazed by the things you learn at university that have sod all to do with your degree.

Imagine, though, if you could be learning in an environment that actually encourages you to research tattooing and other arts, instead of being told it’s a waste of time that should be spent doing boring things for a degree you don’t care about? Turns out, that’s possible. I picked the wrong degree, man.

Matt Lodder, whose work you’ll have seen us talk about before on here, is an art historian who loves tattooing. He also runs a class on Art History in Essex that would be great for any of you guys who are wondering what to do when the comfy college bubble bursts this summer. Here’s a video below, on Matt and his work, that may whet your appetite. I think this is super cool, and I’d encourage you to get yourself on this course if you can! No apologies for the dent in your student loan that tattoos will cause.

Leave a Reply

  • All content (C) Tattoosday UK unless otherwise stated. .
