Remembering Shannon Larratt

A lot of you may already know this, however it’s with regret that I have to inform the rest of you about the sad news of BME’s Shannon Larratt’s passing this weekend. Shannon was BME’s founder, and was deeply respected throughout tattooing, so I’m sure this will be sad news for many people.

While I did not know Shannon, I do know that he helped shape the internet as far as tattooing goes, so his work will always heavily influence mine. In fact, I can still remember the days when BME was basically the only website us ‘weirdos’ went to. I may not have been old enough at the time to have even got my first tattoo, but I thought I was a badass for having a nose piercing, which I guess was good enough at the time. His work was something which, to me, was new and exciting, and above all honest.

There are a few who have already posted online about their sadness and experiences knowing Shannon, including Shawn Porter:

Over the years my friendship with Shannon evolved. We didn’t always agree; far from it. As I got older my views became increasingly conservative and his progressively more radical. We’d butt heads privately and publicly about the safety of a procedure or the ethics of a practitioner, but we’d always respect the other’s opinion and by the end of the argument we’d be smiling. We went through good periods and bad together, the balance shifting depending on the year, but through it all, he remained someone who’s impact on my life is so thorough that it’s impossible to imagine my life without him.

Had you told me, almost 18 years ago, that one day I’d be writing a memorial for him…

You can read more of that here.

Shannon also posted up a last blog post before he passed away. It’s pretty sad; I couldn’t really read all of it so I guess if you knew him you should have a sit down before you read it. He is very positive about his life, though, and he clearly wanted people to read it and think well of him instead of being so sad. You can click here to see that.

I hope that Shannon’s family and friends are feeling okay, and I hope that he rests in peace.

As much as these last years have been the most difficult I can imagine, and there are still many deeds to be done, please know that I have had a wonderful adventure and enjoyed it immensely on the whole.

Shannon Larratt

Leave a Reply

  • All content (C) Tattoosday UK unless otherwise stated. .
