When did Tattoos first have a bearing on your life?

Hey folks, sorry for the lack of general stuff from me, been having all manner of troubles technology wise, I was in a deep thinking move today and was thinking, when was the first time I thought “Wow, Tattoos are rad, I’m going to have to get me a whole body full of those.”

After rattling my brains it suddenly hit me, much like most of the things in my life, it stemmed from music. I am a diehard fan of heavy music, but also indulge in rap, or anything apart from dance music, really. My first recollection of thinking about tattoos as a genuine entity that I could get put on myself came when I discovered my favourite band, aged about 13, the mighty, mighty Slayer. For those of you who do not know , Kerry King is the lead/rhythm guitarist in Slayer.

I remember looking at Kerry King and just thinking “Fuck, he shreds so fucking hard on the guitar, he’s built like a block of flats and is head to toe in tattoos!” From here I checked his tattoos out on the internet and found out that there was a tattoo “celebrity” if you will, living in America, a man by the name of Paul Booth.

Booth has tattooed many of heavy metal’s A League, the who’s who royalty of Heavy Metal including members of Slipknot, Lamb of God, Soulfly, Pantera, Mudvayne, Chimaira, Cradle Of Filth and WWE’s own “Undertaker”. This is a huge list of clients that have led to Booth becoming one of the world’s most prestigious blackandgrey/horror/nightmare tattooers.

Paul Booth tattooing Kerry Kings Iconic Headpiece

Back to Kerry King, he was the first time I was really exposed to tattooing on a large scale, and it surprised me that people could achieve great things like this. This then opened me up in the world of tattooing and luckily I had an art teacher that was willing to let me use lesson time to explore my new curiosity.

Since then, many other musicians have obviously opened me up to the realms of tattooing, such as Frank Carter of Gallows, who came around in 2007. Frank is also a killer artist, and tattoos out of Frith Street when he’s around, follow him on Twitter to get an appointment.

I would love to hear your own stories, and what your first impressions of tattooing are. Please, leave a comment below. I’ve shared mine, so now you have to share yours!

Rich Jones spends his time getting great tattoos and learning Journalism and Media, which he’s going to ace a degree in, in September. When he isn’t having needles stuck in him or writing long words, he loves rugby and music.

(Header image source)

If you know where the images in this are from, please let us know and we’ll credit them!

Leave a Reply

  • All content (C) Tattoosday UK unless otherwise stated. .
