Faces of Black Metal

File this under, “why the hell haven’t I written about this yet?”. Uncle Allan has an art exhibit at Lionheart gallery (which, if you didn’t know, is probably one of the coolest galleries on the planet). If you’re familiar with Uncle Allan’s work, you’ll know that he’s always loved the darker side of life, and clearly finds something endearing about Norway’s rich black metal culture.

The exhibit is based on a book called ‘True Norwegian Black Metal’, by Peter Beste. I haven’t read that book, but I read ‘Lords of Chaos’ by Michael Moynihan and Didrik Søderlind, and that definitely got my attention.

It’s not just paintings, either:

I will also be showing a few photos from my trip to Norway where my goal was to capture the roots of Black metal. For me the Norwegian nature plays a huge roll in why Norwegian, or scandinavian black metal sounds the way it does and seperates it self from the rest of the genre. Some photos are taken with my digital camera and some is taken analogue and developed by myself in our own darkroom.

-Uncle Allan (here)

Anyway, you can see the exhibit at Lionheart until May. Click here for more information. You can also see the full flyer below

Uncle Allan.

Leave a Reply

  • All content (C) Tattoosday UK unless otherwise stated. .
