Fine Art: Ozuma Kaname

Today I was going to geek out and tell you all about the augmented reality tattoo everyone is going nuts about. I might write about that for Tattoo.TV’s news page soon- if I do, I’ll come back and give you a link. Update: here you go, crazy kids.

Instead, I’ve decided we need some fine art stuff, because it’s been a while, and I’ve just seen some great paintings. These are from a great blog a friend showed me, called Rust Never Sleeps, about tattoos in art and mainstream culture. It’s brilliant, and so are the paintings up there today.

From Rust Never Sleeps:

Born in Niigata, Japan in 1939 artist Ozuma Kaname incorporates two of his perceived world of beauty into his artwork – tattooed Japanese women and shibari (Japanese rope bondage). His work is often inspired by customers of his friend, master tattooist Horiyoshi III.

Now for some pictures. I’m guessing from the Japanese in the corner of the paintings that I don’t need to stick an ugly watermark on these, am I right with that? Feel free to correct me.

image

image

More here.

Comments
2 Responses to “Fine Art: Ozuma Kaname”
  1. Rust says:

    Thank you for mentioning me here, it really means a lot:)
    As for japanese tattooed art, you should also check on controversial Seizoh Ebisubashi ( http://rdzaniespi.blogspot.com/2010/09/321.html ).

    • Mel Noir says:

      You’re welcome! :) I read your blog all the time, it’s awesome.
      Wow, I can see why Seizoh Ebisubashi is controversial, haha. It’s painted well, though, I have to admit- and you can’t argue with well executed pieces!
      Thanks for reading! :)

      Mel

Leave a Reply

  • All content (C) Tattoosday UK unless otherwise stated. .
